Obtaining a driver’s license is more involved than waiting for several hours at DMV. MJust what does it take to become a licensed driver in Colorado for youth? Mountain Youth invites young drivers and their parents or their guardian to the next Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) laws presentation on Thursday, February 13 at 5:30 p.m. at the Avon Public Library.
CDOT states that teens face the greatest risk of crashing during the first year of their license. One out of every five licensed 16-year-olds will be in a motor vehicle crash.
The Graduated Driver Licensing laws aim to reduce car crashes by restricting the number of passengers, banning cell phone use, and setting driving curfews for drivers under 18. Parents or guardians are in charge of monitoring their new drivers to make sure they follow the GDL laws. If these laws are violated the youth can receive a citation or a loss of their license.
What is Colorado’s curfew for teens to not be driving? 12am-5am.
Can your teen use their cell phone while driving? No.
In the first six months of having a license can your teen have a passenger like a friend in the car? No.
Are seatbelts mandatory for drivers under 18-year-old? Yes.
Fernando Almanza, Graduated Driving License educator at Mountain Youth, and Hillary Higgins, Mountain Youth safe driving coordinator, will co-lead a presentation for parents and young people to help them navigate the first years behind the wheel.
“GDL laws are beneficial for everyone in the community. The first years of driving can be risky, GDL helps minimize the risk,” explains Almanza.
Mountain Youth has educated more than 240 community members and 300 students in 2019, not only explaining the GDL laws, but sharing tips on safe driving. Almanza will explain how GDL impacts the first years of driving and answer questions on the process.
Studies show teens who take professional behind-the-wheel training make safe drivers. Ron Beard, owner of Alpine Driving School says, “Our driving here, I believe, is far more dangerous than city driving because of our rapidly changing weather conditions, animals, and population of drivers who are unlicensed and cannot read our traffic signs. This includes locals and visitors in our area.”
This presentation is free and open to the public. Teens and their parents are encouraged to come. RSVP to Hillary Higgins at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Youth & Parent Graduated Drivers Licensing Law Presentation
Thursday, February 13
Avon Library Community Room
Youth & Parents:
GDL Process Outlined:
Mountain Youth Safe Driving Resources:
Alpine Driving School:
For a list of state-approved driving schools: